2021-2022 Academic Catalog 
    Apr 20, 2024  
2021-2022 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Division of Communication Arts

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Schools and Divisions


The Division of Communication Arts strives to highlight and integrate the fields of communication studies, journalism and mass communication, and theatre arts through creative, interdisciplinary emphases. Our work involves a synthesis of theory, analysis, and application through classroom experiences, laboratory experiences, practice, and performance. The Division of Communication Arts facilitates learning designed to stimulate artistic, social, cultural, and spiritual development.

Chair, Communication Arts

Benjamin C. Baxter
Assistant Professor of Animation and Media Production
B.A., Ouachita Baptist University, 2002
M.F.A., Savannah College of Art and Design, 2006
Joined the OBU faculty in 2016.


Kaylene Barbe
Frank W. Patterson Professor of Communication

B.A., Baylor University, 1983
M.A., University of Oklahoma, 1987
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 1990
Joined the OBU faculty in 1990.

Hephzibat Dutt
Assistant Professor of Theatre
Director of Theatre

B.A., Northwestern College, 2006
M.A., Bowling Green State University, 2008
Ph.D., Bowling Green State University, 2015
Joined the OBU faculty in 2019.

Holly Easttom
Assistant Professor of Journalism

B.A., University of Central Oklahoma, 2000
M.A., University of Central Oklahoma, 2002
Joined the OBU faculty in 2000.

Scot A. Loyd
Assistant Professor of Communication Studies,
Director of Forensics and Debate

B.A., Arkansas State University, 2004
M.A., Arkansas State University, 2005
Joined the OBU faculty in 2016.

Gary D. Rhodes
Professor of Media Production

Ph.D., The Queen’s University (United Kingdom), 2010
Joined the OBU faculty in 2021.

Career Opportunities

Account Executive
Community Relations
Corporate Trainer
Event Coordinator
Human Resources
Multimedia Producer
News Producer
News Reporter
Non-profit Director
Public Relations
Social Media Coordinator
Sports Reporter
Stage Manager
Television Director
Television Editor

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Schools and Divisions